Remove this ad

Lead

Nov 3 11 9:39 AM

Tags : :

I am an architect who would like to sketch in front of my clients and e-mail sketches back to otherrs.   It seems like Mod Book is perfect for this, but.... with the demise of Axiotron; should I consider another option other than Mod Book or purchase a used one online.  Can you still get peripherals, such as pens and nubs,  and software?  How big of a RISK is it to buy my first Mod Book now?

Mod_Max

Quote    Reply   
Remove this ad
Remove this ad

#1 [url]

Nov 4 11 9:16 PM

I would recommend against it to be honest, for the following reasons:

Lack of support.  I have never in all my years had the unpleasant experience of dealing with such completely inept customer support.  Axiotron simply does not care about its users, and if you have any doubt about that just do a search on line or check out their user bulletin board.  (I realize that they have had issues as a company, but their problems are largely DUE TO their attitude about the end user, rather than despite it.)

Lack of reputable, competent service.  If you have a problem with your Macbook, you take it to the apple store or a certified tech in your area.  If you have a problem with your modbook you get to send it half way across the country and get to do without it for however long it takes the tech to figure out what is wrong, get non-existent parts.  Or you could take it to a local tech for 'no-guarantee but I can look at it' service.  If you go this route, hang around and watch the tech's face when he opens your modbook up.  Watch for the "I-just-shit-my-pants" look on his face when he sees the modbook's inner workings and all the tape and spaghetti dinner of wires inside.  I'll bet you a fiver he won't fix it.