Remove this ad

Lead

May 24 10 2:42 PM

Tags : :

Hello,

I'm a recent University Grad (HBA Philosophy Major) looking to continue my studies and get an Masters and a Doctorate.  I work with troubled youths, to pay my way until I am done school, and have a fledgling web design business on the side.  I'm a geek, and lover of most things 'geeky'.

I too purchased my Modbook when I discovered the limitations of the iPad, though I'll likely pick one of those up too when they finally arrive in the great white north...

I purchased a black 2.4 gHz Macbook, used, to have converted by Carbon Computing in Toronto.  The rep there was stellar and their service and communication was excellent.  I had a new bottom case put on the modbook, a new Seagate 500 gig 7200rpm HDD, and 6 gigs of RAM.  I went for the conversion kit with the GPS unit.  I was disappointed to find that no matter where I looked I couldn't track down the Axiotron studio stylus...

So far my experience with the modbook has been quite good.  I have experienced various issues, mostly with a little bit of the dreaded 'jumping cursor' which is totally annoying... but luckily very infrequent and is usually solved through a cold reboot.  The other issue I have noted is with the metal bezel (top casing) that Axioron uses that seems to be overly conductive.  If I am touching the bezel with my bare arm or hand it (rarely) interferes with the pen input, jumping the cursor to the side of the screen opposite to where I am touching.  I've thought about having it painted with rubbery black paint to match the back, but not sure if that would help.  I have also had an issue at startup, where the indicator lights beside the power button flash continually during and after startup.  This does not appear to effect functionality in any way however.